New Voices-Feedback-the Roses and disappointments-Highs and Lows!!

This is the second year I have entered the New Voices but to be honest- last year I didn’t pay any attention. I submitted my entry and that was it. I didn’t log into the site, I didn’t read entries or vote as much and I didn’t pay attention to a lot of what was going on. In a nutshell, I wasn’t invested and I wasn’t motivated.

Now this year it’s different because this year- I’m different. I have to admit- life has been busy so I haven’t been on the site a lot but I have been reading and voting and I have been on the look out for feedback on my entry because I thought this is an excellent opportunity to get the feedback and improve.

But I find it a little sad for the beginners and I realise that this is not an easy journey for new writers and first I think- yeah I have come a long way and then I think- well these writers need encouragement and motivation and help that will make them improve. Some of the feedback is hard for new writers and I find a lot of them are getting down because of the voting and it shouldn’t be about the roses and how many they get. It’s the feedback that’s important. And in the end it doesn’t matter because the winner doesn’t get chosen by the roses:-))

But that’s damn hard.

I am not sure there is an easy answer for how to stay upbeat and cheerful. But I do know that I want to be there to help motivate writers. I want to be there to help them along this journey even though I am not published yet- I know I will be.

Because I dare to dream.

I dare to believe.

I always hope.

So writers and friends- here’s me saying to you- we’re not alone in this journey.

Happy writing

Kamy

Leave a Reply

