Conflict

Have you ever gotten back a a rejection letter from the editor saying- we love your voice and we think it’s great for what you’re aiming your writing for but the conflict is not strong enough.

Well I was almost pulling my hair out and then I did what I do best. I researched, I got everything I could get my hands on that had anything to do with conflict. Then I went out and bought a whole lot of books and read my favourite authors- this time I looked closely at how they handled the conflict.

I always thought of myself as a pantser with a little bit of a plotter in there somewhere. Then I had to think about conflict and making the characters work for their HEA and it actually made writing a little easier. All I had to do was think of what I wanted from the scene and what I wanted to show about my characters.

Maybe after all these years it’s all making sense.

At least I hope it is;-)

Happy writing- I’m about to go through my hero Nick off a cliff. Hopefully someone catches him or it’s going to be a tragedy instead of a romance novel:-))

Leave a Reply

