Believing in the Impossible

Growing up I was addicted to two things. Books and television. In exactly that order. I would read anything I could get my hands on, from Noddy to Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys, to every Mills and Boon book I could hide away from my English Teacher, to the cereal box when I was desperate.

When it came to television, I would watch all the dramas and series and one of my favourites was MacGyver. Did I ever think that one day, I would stand in front of him and shake his hand, or take a photo with him? That would be a NO. If you asked me 30 years ago, I would have told you, it was impossible. That never in a million years would I, an Indian girl from a small town in a country that practiced Apartheid would grow up to one day meet Richard Dean Anderson. But you know what, I did and it really happened.

So I have to believe that impossible things can become possible if you believe enough in yourself.

This weekend I met an amazing author who I am in awe of. She is brilliant and I want to be her when I grow up. I happened to think Karen Rose writes the most exciting and scintillating thrillers, and I got to have an actual conversation with her. It might not mean a lot to others, but to me, it means the world that she would give me advice and help me not be as fearful of the next step I am about to make.

I look around and am blessed with friends and even strangers who have  faith in this journey and the change in direction I am taking.

As scary as this is, and believe me it is one of the scariest things I have done in my life apart from hand my daughter the keys to my car, I look at my children and realise it is by believing in impossibilities coming true that, I have made the impossible seem possible for them. If I did that and my daughter can say with such surety she will meet her TV hero , then maybe somewhere along the way, I did something right:-)

 

Leave a Reply

