Watching# The Walking Dead

Okay so here’s the deal. I was watching the much awaited for premiere of The Walking Dead like most of the world, and it ticked all the creative boxes. Exactly like it should have. But while I was watching it, I realised  I was sitting there, glued to the TV screen, actually waving at Rick saying, get that Zombie, and yes…I was actually watching a TV series about Zombies. Wow. What happened to me?

Still trying to figure that out. But I suppose the reason some of us watch the Walking Dead is for the same reason, we want to see if the characters make it. We take people and put them in unusual situations, we throw everything we can at them and in the end, we want good to win over evil. That’s it in a nutshell, isn’t it?

I’m going to admit to being a TV addict, but I only watch good TV with good characters and good emotional stories that have me drawn in from beginning to end. Exactly like I am when I’m reading a good book. I want the journey and for that hour or 43 minutes, I want to forget everything wrong in my life. When it comes to that good book, I want to close that last chapter, sigh and dream of that couple making it in the real world. As corny as it sounds, I want to have hope, even though it’s not always possible.

My son sometimes comments on me being engrossed when I watch TV, I suppose he hasn’t learned the art of escapism as yet. Or maybe he hasn’t lived a life where he had to forget a lot of the pain or unhappiness he’s had to endure, which is a good thing. But for us writers we’re tasked with this job of giving our readers hope.

An interesting concept, but I figure if we can find hope in a world full of Zombies, then the future is open to interpretation.

Anyway, I’m being a busy beaver and working away at my next book.

As they say, time flies when you’re having fun.

Kamy

 

Leave a Reply

